The Creative Cities programme was launched by UNESCO in 2004 to enhance international cooperation with and between cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor of sustainable development.
Cities appointed by UNESCO as Creative Cities network and collaborate at a global scale and drive partnerships involving private and public actors, professional organizations, civil society, and cultural institutions, in particular between cities of the North and cities of the South.
In line with UNESCO’s priorities on “culture and sustainable development”, the Creative Cities Network fosters experience, knowledge and resources sharing as a means to promote the development of creative industries at local and global levels, as well as the creation and strengthening of creativity and innovation clusters.  
69 cities are now part of this fast-growing Network. They cover 7 creative fields:
 Literature : Edinburgh, Melbourne, Iowa City, Dublin, Reykjavík, Norwich, Kraków, Dunedin, Granada, Heidelberg and Prague
 Film: Bradford, Sydney, Busan, Galway and Sofia
 Music: Sevilla, Bologna, Glasgow, Ghent, Bogotá, Brazzaville, Hamamatsu, Hanover and Mannheim
 Crafts and Folk Art: Santa Fe, Aswan, Kanazawa, Icheon ,Hangzhou, Fabriano, Paducah, Jakmèl, Jingdezhen, Nassau, Pekalongan and Suzhou
 Design: Buenos Aires, Berlin, Montréal, Nagoya, Kobe, Shenzhen, Shanghai, Seoul, Saint-Étienne, Graz, Beijing, Bilbao, Curitiba, Dundee, Helsinki and Turin
 Media Arts: Lyon, Enghien-les-Bains, Sapporo, Dakar, Gwangju, Linz, Tel Aviv-Yafo and York
 Gastronomy: Popayán, Chengdu , Östersund, Jeonju, Zahlé, Florianópolis, Shunde and Tsuruoka

UNESCO Creative Cities Network Official web site